Home | Reviews | Articles | Festivals | Competitions | Other | Contact Us

Lipinski, Sibelius & Tchaikovsky
Violins from Poland - Niziol & Soyoung Yoon

Karol Lipiński Works for Violin & Piano: Bartłomiej Nizioł - violin, Paweł Mazurkiewicz - piano

DUX 0878


Soyoung Yoon violin with Gorzow PH/Borkowski

DUX 0336

Two "popular" programmes for violin fans, both recommendable. The violin music by Karol Lipiński (1790-1861) includes virtuoso Caprices, Morceaux de Salon after Rossini, and an extended Fantasy & Variations on Bellini's Sonnambula. An old-fashioned recital, delivered with aplomb.

Soyoung Yoon is a truly remarkable violinist amongst so many of the day and her Sibelius concerto is an unallyed joy.

The first movement of the Tchaikovsky, a standard coupling, is not quite so gripping (I mostly avoid hearing it now) but she comes into her own in the slow movement and finale.

Peter Grahame Woolf