Home | Reviews | Articles | Festivals | Competitions | Other | Contact Us

Brahms arr. Karttunen etc

Reconstructed original version of the Piano Quintet, op.34;
Viola version of the Quintet in B minor, Op. 115
by the composer

Krysia Osostowicz, Ernst Kovacic, Violins;
James Boyd, Viola;
Richard Lester, Steven Dann, Anssi Karttunen, Cellos

Toccata Classics: TOCC0066

An enterprising disc, with another to follow.

Particuarly valuable notes; a musicological document by the distinguished and prolific Malcolm MacDonald.

There was a previous reconstruction of the piano quintet string quintet first version, which Karttunen didn't know when making his own very different one. Plenty for study!

Fine UK freelancers of the highest calibre.

Peter Grahame Woolf